University of Minnesota was 1st in Oral Reasons and 2nd Overall in Dairy Cattle Judging at Harrisburg, PA

First-place team in oral reasons in the collegiate dairy cattle judging contest at the All-American Dairy Show, Harrisburg, PA, from the University of Minnesota (l. to r.): Eric Houdek, coach; Ethan Dado, Amery, WI; Laura Jensen, Comstock, WI; Gabriella Sorg, Hastings, MN; and Crystal Siemers-Peterman, Cleveland, WI. Missing from the photo are coaches Dr. Les Hansen, Scott Ellinghuysen, and Alicia Thurk.

Talking their way to 1st overall in oral reasons, the University of Minnesota team placed 2nd overall in the collegiate dairy judging contest held September 19 at the All American Dairy Show, Harrisburg, PA. This is the 3rd year in a row the University of Minnesota has placed either 1st or 2nd in the Harrisburg contest. 

Amazingly, the team was 1st by a 16-point margin in oral reasons, with the team averaging a full point higher per oral presentation than the 2nd oral reasons team, which was Penn State. University of Minnesota contestants were 1st, 3rd, and 4th individually in oral reasons.

The team members were Ethan Dado, Amery, WI (2nd individual overall, 4th reasons, 3rd Holstein, 5th Jersey, 6th Guernsey); Crystal Siemers-Peterman, Cleveland, WI (6th overall, 1st reasons, 1st Brown Swiss, 6th Ayrshire); Laura Jensen, Comstock, WI (11th overall, 3rd reasons, 2nd Ayrshire, 10th Brown Swiss); and Gabriella Sorg, Hastings, MN (16th overall, 1st Guernsey). The team also placed 2nd in the Brown Swiss breed, 3rd in Ayrshire, 4th in Jersey, and 5th in Holstein. Coaches for the Minnesota team are Dr. Les Hansen, alumni Scott Ellinghuysen and Alicia Thurk, and graduate student Eric Houdek.

Thirteen 4-year universities competed, and the team ranking was: 1. Kentucky (2053 pts), 2. Minnesota (2036), 3. UW-River Falls (2015), 4. Penn State (2009), 5. Cornell (1963), 6. Tarleton State (1949), 7. Michigan State (1944), 8. Purdue (1936), 9. UW-Madison (1927), 10. Virginia Tech (1915), 11. Colorado State (1892), 12. Ohio State (1861), 13.West Virginia (1736).