Gopher Dairy Club Members Receive 14 of 43 Scholarships Awarded by National Dairy Shrine Totaling $17,500

Once again in 2016, members of the Gopher Dairy Club received the largest number of scholarships awarded by the National Dairy Shrine, Ft. Atkinson, WI, among all universities. Students at the U of M received 14 of the 43 scholarships (33%). In total, National Dairy Shrine will present members of the Gopher Dairy Club with $17,500 in scholarships at the organization's annual recognition banquet on October 6, 2016, in conjunction with World Dairy Expo, Madison, WI.

UW-Madison students received eight scholarships, and Penn State students, Iowa State students, and Ohio State students each received three scholarships. Students at no other university received more than two scholarships. Recipients from the U of M:

Student Recognition (Senior Merit)
Mary Liebenstein, Dundas, MN ($2,000)

Kildee Graduate
Mary Liebenstein, Dundas, MN ($3,000)

Junior Merit
Johanna Knorr, Pelican Rapids, MN ($1,000)
Trevor Otte, Randolph, MN ($1,000)

Sophomore Merit
Laura Jensen, Comstock, WI ($1,500)

Maurice Core (Freshmen Merit)
Trent Dado, Amery, WI ($1,000)
Haely Leiding, Fountain, MN ($1,000)

McCullough (incoming students)
Rachel Coyne, Spring Valley, WI ($1,500)

DMI Education & Communication
Jeni Haler, Waconia, MN ($1,000)
Crystal Siemers-Peterman, Cleveland, WI ($1,000)

DMI Milk Marketing & Dairy Products
Annie Culbertson, Pine Island, MN ($1,000)
Ethan Dado, Amery, WI ($1,000)
Gabriella Sorg, Hastings, MN ($1,000)

Crystal Siemers-Peterman, Cleveland, WI ($1,500)