Midwest Meeting of Collegiate Dairy Science Clubs was Hosted by the Gopher Dairy Club

An enthusiastic delegation of Gopher Dairy Club members hosted and participated in the Midwest regional meeting of dairy science clubs (ADSA-SAD)

Following a year-long period of planning, the Gopher Dairy Club very successfully hosted the Midwest regional meeting of collegiate dairy science clubs (ADSA-SAD) on the weekend of January 26-28, 2018. Meeting headquarters was the DoubleTree Minneapolis Park Place. A total of 420 student members of dairy science clubs participated from 12 universities -- University of Illinois, Iowa State, Kansas State, Michigan State, NDSU, Ohio State, Purdue, SDSU, UW-Madison, UW-Platteville, and UW-River Falls ,and the University of Minnesota. Co-chairs for planning of the weekend meeting were CFANS juniors Brooke Roberts and Alexis Giangrande.

An opening program on Friday evening included a welcome by CFANS Associate Dean Greg Cuomo, greetings from national ADSA President Karen Schmidt from Kansas State, and an inspiring presentation by Gopher Dairy Club alumnus Sara Schmidt, who is Vice President of Public Affairs for AMPI. A business meeting followed that was led by Regional President Gabriella Sorg from the University of Minnesota. Entertainment by a hypnotist and a dance with a DJ rounded out the evening. 

Saturday's activities included workshops in classrooms on the St. Paul campus that began at 9 a.m. Six educational workshops were led by the following Gopher Dairy Club alumni.

Dan Carroll, ST Genetics
Pat & Sharlene Daninger, dairy producers with on-farm milk bottling 
Sadie Frericks, dairy producer and Dairy Star contributor
Lucas Sjostrom, Minnesota Milk Producers Association
Barry Visser, Vita Plus Nutrition

The sixth workshop was conducted by Dr. Sandra Godden from the U's College of Veterinary Medicine.

A formal banquet and program were held on Saturday evening followed by a dance with a live band. The featured speaker was Dan Carroll, ST Genetics, who is a former member of the Gopher Dairy Club. Awards were presented for the dairy bowl contest, skillathon contest, most students attending from a university, and most miles traveled by a university. The University of Minnesota received the awards for 1st place yearbook and 1st place website. Also, the 2018-19 Midwest regional officers were announced, and Brooke Roberts from the University of Minnesota is the new Midwest President. The 2019 regional meeting will be hosted by NDSU in Fargo.


Co-chairs for planning of the 2018 Midwest regional meeting were CFANS juniors Alexis Giangrande (left) and Brooke Roberts (right)


Speaking during the banquet program were 2017-18 Midwest President Gabriella Sorg (seated) and 2018-19 Midwest President Brooke Roberts (standing), who are both CFANS students from the University of Minnesota