Block and Bridle & Gopher Poultry Science Club Recognition Banquet

The Block and Bridle & Gopher Poultry Science Club Recognition Banquet was held April 22, 2017 in the North Star Ballroom.  Dr. Bill Dayton gave departmental highlights from the past year.  Karin Schaefer, Executive Director of the Minnesota Beef Council, was the featured speaker and challenged the students to aspire to greater achievements. Special thanks to Cargill, Inc. for sponsorship of our banquet.

The following are photos from recognitions of the evening (Not pictured: Dr. Anup Johnny, co-adviser for the Poultry Science Club presented Rachel Kircher with a plaque for Outstanding Poultry Science Club member.):

The Animal Science Academic Quadrathlon team was recognized for their first place finish at the regional AQ competition in the oral presentation. Members from left to right were Audrey Laine, Brandon Hanson, Johanna Knorr, and Dan Hayes.

The General Livestock Judging Team competed well this spring and is gearing up for competitions this fall. Pictured from left to right: Kyle Rozeboom (coach), Rachel Engel, Josef Pettit, Emma Penzenstadler, Scott Dingels, Paige Netzke, Fred Mansfield, Maggie Larson, , Greg Harder (associate coach), and Mindy Rinkel.

The Outstanding Service Award was presented by Block and Bridle president Rachel Engels to Brad Rugg, State 4-H Livestock Coordinator. Brad has supported many of the Block and Bridle events over the years and employed many B & B members in the state 4-H office on campus

Kyle Rozeboom was presented with the Outstanding Faculty Award by Block and Bridle president Rachel Engels. Kyle teaches Livestock and Carcass Evaluation, Food Animal Products for Consumers, Livestock Merchandising, Pork Production Systems Management, Beef and Sheep sections of Introductory Animal Science, and Livestock Judging. He also manages the sheep and swine units on campus and coaches the livestock judging team.

Greg Harder presented Kent Thiesse with the Outstanding Alumni Award. Kent graduated from the University of Minnesota of Minnesota in 1975. He has served the agriculture industry in Minnesota in many different capacities over the years. He has been the overall chair of the 4-H Beef Committee for 26 years and has served on the Minnesota Beef Expo committee since the beginning. He was named the University of Minnesota Extension Educator of the Year in 1987.

Freshman, Abby Penzenstadler, was presented the Block & Bridle scholarship. In addition to maintaining a high grade point average, Abby has participated in numerous B & B activities throughout the year.

Jennifer Fidler received the outstanding B & B Rookie Award. Of special note, Jenny coordinated the clubs trip to the National Block and Bridle Convention held April 1 -3 in Washington DC.

Thomas Duff received the award for Outstanding Block and Bridle Senior. Thomas served as both Treasurer and Vice-president of the B & B club and has chaired several committees.

Five animal science students that have served as Teaching Assistants in Animal Science courses were honored for their outstanding service to the Animal Science Department. Left to right they are: Kimberly Gustafson, Josef Pettit, Alexia Riley, Scott Dingels, and Paige Netzke.