Block and Bridle and Gopher Poultry Science Clubs Host Club Recognition Banquet

The Block and Bridle/Gopher Poultry Science Club Recognition Banquet was held April 6, 2019 in the Northstar Ballroom in the St. Paul Student Center. Mike Schutz, Department Head of the Department of Animal Science, welcomed attendees and gave updates on departmental happenings.

Thom Peterson, Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Agriculture, was the featured speaker and discussed challenges at the legislature relative to agriculture. 

Following are the recognitions of the evening:

The Animal Science Academic Quadrathlon team was recognized for their first place finish at the local AQ competition held in February.  Members from left to right were Jenni Fidler, Michael Carroll, and Matthias Annexstad.  Not pictured is Olivia Vande Hey.

Kyle Rozeboom presented the Outstanding Animal Science senior plaque to Alyssa Groskopf. 

The General Livestock Judging Team completed their judging competition with many top ten team and individual honors. Members of the team include Alyssa Groskopf, Dan Hayes, Mason Currie, Abby Penzenstadler, Brooke Roberts, Jennifer Fidler, Nicholas Pitlick, and Brady Bobendrier. The team was coached by Kyle Rozeboom.

The Outstanding Service award was presented to Dee Brothers – Evan and Graham. The Dee brothers have hosted the Block and Bridle Club numerous times at their farm where they breed nationally recognized show lambs. Their genetics have influenced the genetics of our sheep on campus. Evan Dee was present to accept the award.

The Outstanding Faculty/Staff award was presented to Dr. Melissa Palmer. Melissa teaches Orientation to Animal Science, Human and Animal Physiology, biotechnology courses, and leads a study abroad course to Belize.

John Carroll and Kyle Rozeboom presented Jim Merritt with the Outstanding Alumni Award. Jim Merritt was a Block and Bridle member and a member of the U of MN Livestock judging team in 1964.  Jim has been very influential in the growth of the swine industry in the Midwest, served on the Minnesota Pork Board, and has always been a great supporter of the University.

Vanessa Roberts and Laura Church shared the outstanding B & B Rookie Award for outstanding contributions to the club. 

Jenni Fidler received the plaque for Outstanding Block and Bridle Senior.  Jenni has been a member of the B & B executive committee, chaired several committees, and attended four National Block and Bridle Conventions. 

Gopher Poultry Science Club (GPSC) awards were presented during the Block and Bridle Annual Banquet. Dr. Anup Johny, Co-Advisor for GPSC, announced the awards and Dr. Mike Schutz, the Department Head, presented the awards. Mr. Eli Braun, the outgoing President of GPSC won the 2019 outstanding member award and Claire Peichel, the Treasurer of GPSC won the 2018-19 outstanding volunteer award. CAPTION: From the left to right: Dr. Johny, Claire Peichel, Eli Braun, and Dr. Schutz.

Special thanks to Cargill, Inc. and Dr. Brian Knudson, Cargill Enterprise Strategy Leader, for sponsoring of our banquet and awards program.

Members of AQ Team (left to right): Jenni Fidler, Michael Carroll, and Matthias Annexstad. Not pictured is Olivia Vande Hey.

Alyssa Groskopf, Outstanding Animal Science Senior recipient, with Professor Kyle Rozeboom.

Outstanding Service Award Recipient - Dee Brothers. Pictured is Evan Dee

Outstanding Faculty/Staff Award Recipient - Melissa Palmer

John Carroll (right) and Kyle Rozeboom (left) presented Jim Merritt with the Outstanding Alumni Award.

Outstanding Block and Bridle Rookie Award Recipients - Vanessa Roberts (left) and Laura Church (right)

Outstanding Block and Bridle Senior Recipient - Jenni Fidler

GPSC Outstanding Member Award Recipient - Eli Braun; and Outstanding Volunteer Award Recipient - Claire Peichel pictured with Dr. Anup Johny and Department Head, Mike Schutz.