University of Minnesota
College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences
http://www.cfans.umn.edu
Go to the U of M home page

Department of Animal Science

Home > Extension & Outreach > Beef Cattle Extension > Meet the Beef Team

Meet the Beef Team

Please contact any member of the U of M Beef Team with questions or concerns related to the beef industry and follow us on Facebook at  facebook.com/UMBeefTeam.

Beef Cattle Nutrition

Alfredo DiCostanzo
Professor and Extension Animal Scientist
Department of Animal Science, St. Paul Campus
Tel: 612-624-1272 / Email: dicos001@umn.edu

Feedlot Management

Nicole Kenney
Assistant Extension Professor, Feedlot Nutrition and Management
Mid-Central Research and Outreach Center, Willmar, MN
Tel: 320-235-0726 ext. 2009 / Email: nmkenney@umn.edu

Meat Science, Beef Quality and Safety

Ryan Cox
Assistant Professor and Extension Meats Scientist
Department of Animal Science, St. Paul Campus
Tel: 612-624-3063 / Email: ryancox@umn.edu

Cow/Calf Management

Eric Mousel
Assistant Extension Professor, Cow/Calf Specialist
U of M Extension Regional Office, Grand Rapids, MN
Tel: 218-327-4490 / Email: emmousel@umn.edu

Beef Cattle Reproduction

Allen Bridges
Assistant Professor, Beef Cattle Reproduction
North Central Research & Outreach Center, Grand Rapids, MN
Tel: 218-327-4490 Ext. 2011 / Email: gbridges@umn.edu

Bethany Funnell
DVM, Research Associate-Animal Science, Director of Reproductive Biotechnology Center
North Central Research & Outreach Center, Grand Rapids, MN
Tel: 218-327-4490 / Email: lova0011@umn.edu

Grazing and Forage Management

Russ Mathison
Research Fellow and Forage Agronomist
North Central Research & Outreach Center, Grand Rapids, MN
Tel: 218-327-4352 / Email: mathison@umn.edu

Dairy/Beef Management

Hugh Chester-Jones
Professor, Dairy and  Beef Production Systems
Southern Research and Outreach Center, Waseca, MN
Tel: 507-837-5618 / Email: chest001@umn.edu

County Extension Educators

Mike Boersma
Pipestone and Murray Counties
Tel: 507-825-6715 / Email: boers010@umn.edu

Brenda Miller
Todd County
Tel: 320-732-4435 / Email: nels4220@umn.edu

Howard Person
Marshall and Pennington Counties
Tel: 218-683-7030 / Email: perso005@umn.edu

Troy Salzer
Carlton County
Tel: 218-384-3511 / Email: salze003@umn.edu

Jim Stordahl
Clearwater and Polk Counties
Tel: 218-563-2465 / Email: stordahl@umn.edu

Outreach Center Operations

Scott Bird
Junior Scientist
North Central Research & Outreach Center, Grand Rapids, MN
Email: birdx062@umn.edu

Mike Funnell
Farm Foreman
North Central Research & Outreach Center, Grand Rapids, MN
Email: funne001@umn.edu

Graduate Students

Irene Ceconi (PhD)
Email: cecon001@umn.edu

Devan Paulus Compart (PhD)
Email: paulu058@umn.edu

German Huber (MS)
Email: huber048@umn.edu

Justin Johnston (MS)
Email: joh04848@umn.edu

Shantille Kruse (PhD)
Email: kruse227@umn.edu

Kaitlyn McClelland (PhD)
Email: mccl0417@umn.edu

Site Navigation

Beef Cattle Extension Home

Meet the Beef Team

Flagship Programs

Publications and Resources 
 

Related Links

Mid-Central Research & Outreach Center

North Central Research & Outreach Center

Southern Research & Outreach Center

U of M Reproductive Biotechnology Center

U of M Extension